Your training needs in 2013/ 2014?

Dear All,

We are in the process of planning the new training programme for 2013/2014. Since our approach is to design sessions that directly respond to the needs of the research staff, I would really appreciate it if you could spare a few moments to send me your researcher development priorities. In other word, what headings would you like to see in next year’s programme (and why)?

For more effective training, your input is essential at this stage, and we will try – as much as possible – to take all suggestions on board. Please add your comments below.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Mariam

4 thoughts on “Your training needs in 2013/ 2014?

  1. I feel we need more “recognisable” training in teaching, especially those with jobs that are research-focused like mine. I am not very impressed with our University NSS scores. In the past I have attended a couple of short teaching training courses, but I feel they were insufficient.

    Like

  2. One thing I would like to see is some training on writing for semi-academic audiences – not so much working with the media, but communicating our research for public resources such as The Open Democracy, Al-Jazira, Middle East Report and similar. For my own work as well as from communication with some other research colleagues I know that this is an important venie for dissemination and impact, and yet the writing skills required for that are different from what we are trained to do (articles, books etc)

    Like

  3. My name is Alex Baratta, a lecturer in Education. My research interests are applied linguistics (e.g. academic writing) and sociolinguistics. I am looking to collaborate with other academics, ideally to secure funding, and to then work on a paper together. If anyone is interested or would like to discuss further, please contact me at Alex.Baratta@manchester.ac.uk.

    Like

  4. I would like to see the following three training sessions repeated next year:

    1. Academic career planning
    2. The resilient researcher
    3. Managing research relationships

    I also agree with the post above about training for writing for semi- and non-academic audiences, this would be very useful.

    Finally I wonder if you have any sessions specifically for women in terms of career development? For example something like this:
    http://www.vitae.ac.uk/researchers/1528-311781/Managing-your-academic-career-Women-in-academia.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

