Repost: “I’m an adjunct who also works in a grocery store” by Matt Debenham (via Buzzfeed)

(An interesting post on one American academic’s experiences working in the US higher education system.) 


 

The day in January I brought my job application back to the grocery store, I assumed I’d just be dropping it off, but the manager, Scott, wanted to look it over with me standing right there. He read through my work experience on the front. I hadn’t worked retail since college, but I’d had management experience in the private sector. Then he turned the paper over and I watched his eyes move across the hours available section.

“Lots of availability,” he said, nodding. “That’s good.”

“The only times I can’t do are daytime Monday, Tuesday nights, and then late afternoon Thursdays.”

Scott flipped the application over again, looked at my info, then back up at me. “How many hours are you hoping for?”

I was teaching two three-credit undergraduate courses at one college near my home in Connecticut and a three-credit class at another, along with a private writing workshop Tuesday nights. I also write weekly reviews for a TV website and do private editing work when it’s available. I’m 44 years old. My wife and I have two teenagers. The town we live in is one of the most expensive in the country.

“As many as you can give me,” I said.

Click on this link to read the rest of the article: http://www.buzzfeed.com/mattdebenham/bagging-groceries-grading-papers

Leave a Reply

